#1 Ephie

Ephie

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 256 posts
  • LocationNew York City

Posted 19 October 2017 - 01:36 PM

I have a Mora Bushcraft Black, which I am very happy with and which has held its edge very well 

https://morakniv.se/...ushcraft-black/

However I am getting towards the point where it is going to need a bit of a tuneup with regards to sharpening.  I am still a novice when it comes to sharpening and have started myself off with the the Work Sharp Guided Field Sharpener, which I love. 

http://www.worksharp...-sharpener.html

The built in guides helped me get over my intimidation over maintaining the correct angle and the portability encourages me to sharpen more because I can do it virtually anywhere.

My question is whether the 20 degree angle that is preset on this guide is appropriate for a Scandi grind, or, as I have seen on some videos, should I just use a sharpening stone and use the bevel on the knife blade as my guide.

Thanks.

#2 KlaudeMarks

KlaudeMarks

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 285 posts

Posted 20 October 2017 - 01:19 AM

Coming from a freehand guy, I believe a scandi would be easier on a stone. Just lay on the bevels and push or drag.

I've never used a guided system, but from the looks it could be difficult to get that angle right. A lot guys have those systems though so I hope someone can help you

EDC Culture

gearfacts.com

#3 Ephie

Ephie

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 256 posts
  • LocationNew York City

Posted 20 October 2017 - 05:19 PM

Thanks KlaudeMarks, from all that I have watched on YouTube, I think I will go the freehand stone route and rely on the Scandi bevel to be my guide.
Is there a particular brand of stone you would recommend? Grit level?
Thanks.

P.S
Some of the videoes I’ve been watching

https://youtu.be/262ZrxulO38

#4 KlaudeMarks

KlaudeMarks

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 285 posts

Posted 20 October 2017 - 11:22 PM