watch automatic manual digital analog

1 reply to this topic

#1 Alex Blosser

Alex Blosser

• Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 01 August 2016 - 07:19 PM

While there have always been certain items that I've always carried with me, I'm new to the world of everyday carry, and I can say that it thoroughly fascinates me. Of all the useful, functional, and necessary items for everyday carry, the watch seems to give me the most frustration- it's like a balancing act between principle, longevity, form, price, etc. So, here is what I'm trying to consider:

1. First and foremost is, unsurprisingly, price. I realize that you're not going to find a reliable, durable and good quality EDC watch for $25; however, I also don't see the point in spending substantially more than is necessary just to have a specific brand of watch with tons of features that I'll likely never use. 

2. Speaking of watches with tone of features, how much is too much? Time, day, and date make sense (after all, that's why you have a watch), but what about specific timers, heart rate monitors, etc. How much of this stuff do you really find yourself using or actually ever needing? 

3. Though I can change watch batteries myself, it's not what I would consider to be a fun way to spend an evening. Logically, the answer is to either omit the battery entirely or attempt to prolong it as long as possible, via a solar watch or an EcoDrive. Naturally, manual movements need cleaning and adjusting, while batteries still eventually wear out and need replacing, so which would provide the most longevity for everyday wear?