12 replies to this topic

#1 The Mighty Pen

The Mighty Pen

• Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 27 June 2016 - 07:59 AM

Hi all:

I've never used a fountain pen in my life, but as a writer by trade, I'm still refining my EDC notebook/pen to that "sweet spot" that I like to use, but also remains practical enough to "pocket and forget." I'm intrigued by fountain pens, but I'm not convinced they're for me.

Thing is, I want a pants-only EDC. I can and do carry stuff in a jacket pocket, but that's only when the weather demands it, so I have to be able to comfortably stuff things into my jeans or cargo shorts the rest of the year. That means a back-pocket friendly pen. Right now, I have the telescoping Zebra ballpoint, which is fine, but I'm open to something better. Still, I can't get over the fear that a fountain pen in my back pocket will eventually leak. When/if that happens, it's bound to make a mess not just of the pants I'm wearing, but whatever it is I'm sitting on.

Do any of you carry a fountain pen in your back pockets? Has it ever leaked?

#2 Wizard

Wizard

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 19 posts

Posted 28 June 2016 - 03:51 PM

I have carried fountain pens for a while now, My first was a Lamy safari. I carried a few of those for months, I have never had one spill or leak. In recent I have carried a kaweco Al sport, i can't recommend it enough. It is so small but posts into a full size pen. I also have not had it leak at all. I work in construction so the pen gets hot and cold in my pocket without any issues. very happy with it.

Although I have not used the liliput it is very similar, super small and extremely pocketable, however it is a little more expensive. 

#3 Adam Morris

Adam Morris

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 15 posts

Posted 29 June 2016 - 01:15 AM

Like the other fountain pen users I wouldn't trust one in my back pocket, not least because I prefer solid metal pens and they would hurt me...